top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeghan The Medium

Blog #2 Paranormal Equipment We Use in our investigations


Panasonic QR80 Ghost Hunter Recorder is my #1 favorite piece of paranormal equipment ever. I found out about this recorder on my favorite paranormal investigators YouTube channel. Steve Huff is one of the most educated and passionate paranormal investigators in the field, I look up to him and always watch his videos before I investigate. He has made several videos raving about this recorder. The two cons about this recorder is it does not have a USB to plug it in to a computer and this recorder is very old so the playback quality isn’t the best, you will need a speaker to listen back to the recordings. Originally this recorder was sold for around $30 years ago as a normal digital recorder, It was discontinued by Panasonic after complaints about users picking up sounds and voices. This recorder goes on ebay for over $400, in my opinion it's way to overpriced. In my opinion EVP’s are the best validating evidence you can get.



P-SB7 Spirit Box is another favorite of mine to connect to the spirit world. The P-SB7 Spirit Box s the most famous tool for instant spirit communications. The Spirit Box is on amazon for $90. The Spirit box is a radio that scans the FM band and AM band and creates a loud unique high frequency synthetic noise, a.k.a. white noise, where spirit voices seemingly are able to form words. The P-SB7 Spirit Box has been featured on lots of paranormal shows especially Ghost Adventures. I decided to buy one after trying to get EVPs outdoors. It was rather impossible when the wind is blowing however, with this radio it was much easier to hear and get validation. One thing you should always do when you use the P-SB7 Spirit Box is always record the session because playing it back you might hear spirits you didn’t hear when you were using it at the time. For example, I never hear my name being called when I am using it at the time however several sessions of playing the recording back I hear my name being called. I use the Spirit Box at my house all the time and some of the voices that have came through have blown me away. My grandfather Michael passed in 2004 when I set my intention to connect with my grandfather on the box I felt this cold mass on my back I asked “Are you making my back cold?” then I hear a male voice say “HI” then I hear a female voice say “Michael”. I will put the recording I took of this session on my blog so you can listen to it. Lastly, I wanted to add that one con to the P-SB7 Spirit Box is that since this is a radio and its skipping through radio frequencies once in a while there could be a radio blip. How to fix the solution of mistaking it to be spirit talking is to always make sure the Spirit Box is going in reverse, that makes it so when the radio blips come out that it will be in reverse. When spirit talks they will be able to manipulate the radio so they can talk forward. I have put some of my spirit box clips on the blog if you’d like to check it out. To check it out some of the amazing proof I have gotten with this spirit box Click here.



Portal App is another awesome tool to connect with spirits. The Portal App is only on android app store and the creator is the famous paranormal investigator Steve Huff. The Portal App was made to be similar to Steve Huffs Wonder Box. The only difference to them is that the Wonder Box is $5,000 and usually sells out within 2 hours of it being put up on his website. That is how much is costs for him to build it so I realize why it costs so much money. Iit really is a one of a kind box and the validation he gets on it is crazy. The Portal App is a free app and is very similar to the Wonder Box and the P-SB7 Spirit Box. I was never a android fan however after using the Portal App on Todds phone on a investigation I invested my money in a android tablet. Steve Huff talks about how this app is different than all the other “Ghost Hunting Apps” out there on the market. What they don’t realize is until now, most spirit ITC apps have a bank of sounds. IN the past, it was a series of hundreds or thousands of words that back then, some believed could be pulled and used by spirit to form a phrase, answer or reply. What many did not realize back then was that words, phrases and replies were coming out using words that were not in the banks. Steve Huff also says “Ater tests among tests among tests many of us realized that spirit speaks to use using these devices by MANIPULATING audio that we give them. A while back. Matt Payne of Paranormal Shadows and I did a test with a word bank. The app had a list of words in the bank, and they would highlight when spoken. When I recorded a test session, words were showing up but what was heard was NOT The words in the bank or the ones being shown, proving that spirit was changing the audio.” What I personally love about the Portal app is that it plays in reverse and when spirit is able to manipulate it they speak forward. On our youtube channel if you skip to 20:00 minutes there is a montage of us using the app in the famously haunted Burial Hill Cemetery in Plymouth, Ma https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdHlLxruYxU&t=3s. The validation using this app in jaw dropping. One example is we went to the hanging tree where the Pilgrims used to hang people at 20:53 on our video linked above Bailey asks “Were you guilty or innocent?” a female replied back saying “Innocent.”



The Ghost Meter EMF Sensor is a great tool to detect if a spirit is in the room. One of the most common tools you'll find in a paranormal investigator's toolbox is the EMF meter .The Ghost Meter EMF Sensor is on ebay for as cheap as $20. The one I have I got on amazon here is the link. Spirits are believed to be hot or cold energy mass’s that this device can detect. A pro to this investigation tool is it can also be operated in silent mode so it doesn't interfere with EVP (Electronic Voice Phenomenon) recordings or distract other investigators during an investigation.



Camera is a important tool also. I am being very vague by saying camera because any camera will do there isn’t a specific type that I have in mind. Believe it or not I have got the best paranormal photos ever just by using my iphone 7 camera. A tip I learned on a investigation is to use the “live” feature on the iphone while take photos because it takes a series of photos 3 seconds before and after you click the button to take it, which means that spirits have a easier time making an appearance in your photograph. Also I have a basic Nikon camera I got for Christmas a few years ago that captures good orb photos. Orbs are a ball of light which is the energy of spirits and are usually blue, white, and or crimson. Last thing I wanted to say is ALWAYS use flash while taking photos on your investigation.


Sony - PX Series Digital Voice Recorder is another recorder we use on investigations it’s not as much money as the Panasonic QR80 Recorder and still gets the job done. The good thing about this recorder is it has a built in USB connector for your computer, has a t-mark button to put a place marker on the exact time you want if you heard something while recording and this device is very sensitive which is good for trying to pick up spirit voices. I got an amazing EVP at my house, I felt a presence of a male in my room named James and previously that day my boyfriend and I drove to Plymouth Burial Hill Cemetery before he had work to do a quick P-SB7 Spirit Box session we investigated a mass grave of 72 sailors that died and the head captains name was James Magee. In the EVP I say “I feel a presence here….. Is James Magee here?” a spirit replies in response to my question clear as day “He’s here.” I am very impressed with this voice recorder i’ve tried a lot of recorders, if you can’t get your hands on a recorder the next best thing to do would be using a iphone recorder and or android recorder.

37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Lizzie Borden EVP - Todd Sylvia
00:00
bottom of page